Types of Awards


Australia Awards in Africa comprise of scholarships, short courses and fellowships that aim to support the leadership needs of African professionals as well as effectively focus training on areas most relevant to Africa’s development priorities.

Australia Awards Scholarships

Scholarships for Masters studies in Australia are being offered to eligible African candidates for postgraduate studies commencing in 2016. Applications for study commencing in 2018 are now closed.

The following countries are eligible for Scholarships:

  1. Botswana
  2. Ghana
  3. Kenya
  4. Malawi
  5. Mauritius
  6. Madagascar
  7. Mozambique
  8. Nigeria
  9. South Africa
  10. Tanzania
  11. Zambia

To find out more information on the eligibility criteria and application process please go to your country page.


Focus sectors for Masters Awards reflect areas which have been identified as priorities by partner governments and in which Australia is recognised as having world-leading expertise and experience. Current priority sectors include: Agricultural Productivity; Extractives; and Public Policy. Click here to discover what courses are available in your area of interest, at Australian institutions.



Short Courses

Short Courses offers opportunities for short-term post-graduate training delivered in Australia and/or in Africa for up to three months. The training targets experienced employees from African public, private and non-government organisations (civil society) in the following fields: Agriculture, Extractives and Public Policy. Read more about Short Courses here. Applications for study are now closed.


The following countries are eligible for Short Courses:

  1. Botswana
  2. Cameroon
  3. Cote d’Ivoire
  4. Ethiopia
  5. Ghana
  6. Kenya
  7. Malawi
  8. Mauritius
  9. Madagascar
  10. Mozambique
  11. Namibia
  12. Nigeria
  13. Rwanda
  14. Senegal
  15. Seychelles
  16. Somalia
  17. South Africa
  18. South Sudan
  19. Tanzania
  20. Uganda
  21. Zambia
  22. Zimbabwe

Please navigate to your home country on the Africa map  to find out more information about Short Courses as well as information on eligibility.


Australia Awards Fellowships

Australia Awards Fellowships, are managed from Canberra, Australia. They aim to develop leadership, address priority regional development issues, and build partnerships and linkages between Australian organisations and partner organisations in developing countries, including countries in Africa. The goal of the Australia Awards Fellowships program is to develop appropriately trained current and aspiring leaders in priority areas, who, in the short- to medium-term, will be in a position to advance key regional policy objectives and increase institutional capacity of partner countries. Those Fellowships are designed to complement individual bilateral country programs by offering flexible fellowship placements which address current and emerging needs at the country, sub-regional and regional levels.

Australian Host Organisations apply for funding to support Africans on Australia Award Fellowships. For more details visit http://dfat.gov.au/people-to-people/australia-awards/pages/australia-awards-fellowships.aspx . Note that applications are accepted from Australian organisations only; individuals are not eligible to apply.


Post-Doctoral Fellowships

In 2017, the Australia Awards – Africa program will pilot a number of Post-Doctoral Fellowships through the Australia Africa Universities Network (AAUN), with a view to scaling up and offering post-docs to other selected countries in future. The pilot will initially be open to Eligible Applicants affiliated to South African Universities that are members of the AAUN.


During the pilot phase, the Post-Doctoral Fellowship provides financial support for African academics affiliated to a South African university and engaged in research activity. Fellowships will be up to two years in total, comprised of research components in both Australia and South Africa but limited to 12 months in Australia. The Australian component of the award will be fully funded by the Australia Awards – Africa Program.


For more information on eligibility and the application process, go to: http://www.australiaawardsafrica.org/post-doctoral-fellowships.


Back To Top