Applications are now closed.


GHANA: Eligibility Criteria – Masters Awards 2019


Ghana priority areas

  • Agricultural Productivity
  • Extractives and Natural Resource Management (especially mining related subjects)
  • Public Policy

Applications will also be considered in the following sectors:

  • Education
  • Environment
  • Gender and Disability Studies
  • Health


Coordinating Authority for Ghana

  • The Scholarships Secretariat, President’s Office


Target Group

  • Nationals of Ghana.
  • Mid-to-senior career professional working in the Public or Private Sector in one of the listed priority fields of study.
  • You wish to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study.
  • Private sector candisates from large corporate extractive companies are not eligible to apply
  • You cannot pursue a Masters of Business Administration degree
  • You have a clear vision for how you will use the knowledge gained through the Masters degree to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study.
  • Gender Equality: Australia Awards targets equal participation by women and men. Applications from women are strongly encouraged, and mechanisms are in place to support women applicants and Awardees.
  • Disability Inclusion: Australia Awards aim to ensure that people with a disability are given fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship. Applications from people with a disability are strongly encouraged.  Mechanisms are in place to support applicants and Awardees requiring specific assistance.




  • You must be at least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of your application.
  • You must have at least three (3) years’ post-graduation work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to your proposed field of study and to your employment organisation type Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.
  • All public sector applicants must comply with the Government of Ghana regulations for government employees wishing to apply for scholarships.
  • You must possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) of at least 4 years in length with at least a 2:2 (2nd Class Lower Division).
  • You must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree
  • You must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award
  • You must meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships – refer to the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook


Further Information

For further information on Australian Government policies, please see the links below.

  • Provision of course research support is provided for short-listed candidates
    Special needs assistance is provided, as deemed appropriate, on a case-by-case basis. From more information read the Australian Government’s Disability Rights guide
  • Essential information for participating in the Scholarship program is provided in the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook
  • Additional information on the Australian Government’s policies is provided on the Australia Awards website ( by The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade)
  • Applicants must inform Australia Awards – Africa of any connection or relationship to staff employed by the Australian Government or with Palladium (the Managing Contractor), at the time of application. Information can be sent to the Awards Department.
  •  Responsible Australian Government Post
    Australian High Commission – Ghana
    2 Second Rangoon Close, Cantonments
    Accra, Ghana
    Tel: +233 302 216 400