Applications are now closed.


MAURITIUS: Eligibility Criteria – Master Awards 2019


Mauritius priority areas

  • Public Policy (particularly blue/ocean economic policy, including trade policy)
  • Agricultural Productivity
  • Extractives

Applications will also be considered in the following sectors:

  • Education
  • Health
  • Natural Resource Management (including environment, climate change, urban water management and ocean/marine management)

Public Policy is one of three priority sectors for Australia Awards. Within the sector, scholars have the opportunity to select short courses, that specialise in the following topics:

-Trade policy negotiations

-Public-Private infrastructure partnerships

-Ocean Management: sustainable fisheries and governance


Coordinating Authority for Mauritius

  • Ministry of Civil Service and Administrative Reforms


Target Group

  • National of Mauritius
  • Early or mid-career professional working in the Public Sector, the Private Sector or a Non-Government Organisation (Civil Society) in one of the listed priority fields of study.
  • Professionals who wish to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study. (Masters of Business Administration are not permitted).
  • Clear vision for how knowledge gained through the Masters degree will be used to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study.
  • Gender Equality: Australia Awards target equal participation by women and men.
  • Disability Inclusion: Australia Awards aim to ensure that people with a disability are given fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship.


  • At least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of application.
  • At least three (3) years’ post-graduation work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to proposed field of study and to employment organisation type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience). Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.
  • Possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) of at least 4 years in length with a 2nd Class Lower Division pass (2:2).
  • Minimum English language proficiency equivalent to an overall IELTS score of 5.0 with no band score lower than 4.5 (equivalent TOEFL scores are also accepted). Those with overall scores of lower than 6.5 who are selected for an award will be supported to undertake between 3 and 9 months pre-course English language training and will need to achieve a score of 6.5 at the end of this training with no band score lower than 6.
  • Must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree.
  • Must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award.
  • Must meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships – refer to the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook




Further Information


For further information on Australian Government policies, please see the links below.

  • Provision of course research support is provided for short-listed candidates
    Special needs assistance is provided, as deemed appropriate, on a case-by-case basis. From more information read the Australian Government’s Disability Rights guide
  • Essential information for participating in the Scholarship program is provided in the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook
  • Additional information on the Australian Government’s policies is provided on the Australia Awards website (by The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade)
  • Applicants must inform Australia Awards – Africa of any connection or relationship to staff employed by the Australian Government or with Palladium (the Managing Contractor), at the time of application. Information can be sent to the Awards Department.