Back to map

About Tasmania

Tasmania is an archipelago of more than 300 islands sitting just 240 kilometres south-east of mainland Australia. It is Australia’s only island state, and has a maritime, temperate climate with four distinct seasons. Tasmania has more than 1,000 mountain peaks, four mild seasons, more than 40 per cent of the island is protected as national parks and reserves, and is home to some of the world’s rarest animals. The main island, which compares in size to the Republic of Ireland is home to about 500,000 people.



Hobart is Tasmania’s capital city, located in the south-east of the state. It is the nation’s smallest capital, with a population of just under 215,000 people.

The city is located at the foot of Mount Wellington, surrounding the beautiful deep water harbour of the River Derwent. Hobart is rich in maritime history, and a diverse range of crafts including Antarctic supply vessels, sailing dinghies, catamarans, kayaks, yachts, fishing boats and square riggers can be seen on the river on any given day.



The average summer temperatures vary between 17 and 23 degreeCelsius and in winter, between 3 and 11degree Celsius. Tasmania’s location below the 40th parallel means the summer evenings display a lingering twilight.



Buses provide the main form of public transport in Hobart. It is an easy city to get around, and a great place to either walk or cycle.


Cost of Living:

The cost of living in Hobart is on par with that of most mainland cities. Accommodation will be your major expense. International students should budget for around A$18,000 per year.



Hobart Date/Time


- University of Tasmania