Australia’s foreign aid program seeks to advance Australia’s national interests through contributing to economic growth and poverty reduction. The program has a strong focus on performance, results and value for money. Australia’s aid to Africa aims to contribute to reducing poverty and lifting living standards through sustainable economic growth.


Australia is optimistic about Africa’s future. Australia has eight Diplomatic missions in Africa supporting bilateral relations with sub-Saharan African nations. The first mission, based in South Africa, was opened in 1946 and the most recent in Ethiopia in 2011.


Location of Diplomatic Offices Country accreditation Ambassador/High Commissioner Website
Egypt Egypt, Sudan and Eritrea HE Mr Neil Hawkins
Ethiopia Central African Republic, Ethiopia, Djibouti, South Sudan HE Mark Sawers
Ghana Ghana, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo. HE Andrew Barnes
Kenya Kenya, Burundi, Somalia,Tanzania and Uganda HE Ms Alison Chartres
Mauritius Mauritius, Seychelles, Comoros and Madagascar HE Ms Jenny Dee
Nigeria Nigeria, Cameroon, Gabon, Benin; Congo, Niger Republic, Gambia and Mauritania HE Paul Lehmann
South Africa South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland and Angola HE Mr Adam McCarthy
Zimbabwe Democratic Republic of Congo, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi HE Suzanne McCourt